If you have never heard of them before, the 5 Freedoms of Animal Welfare arewidely accepted throughout the world as the starting point for minimum animalwelfare standards. The APCA recognises that an animal’s primary needs can bemet by safeguarding the 5 Freedoms, and encourages all pet care facilities tolook to these freedoms when designing facilities, writing policy andprocedure, and training staff.

The 5 Freedoms are:

1. Freedom from Hunger and Thirst

This freedom ensure that animals will have easy access to fresh water at alltimes, and a diet to maintain full health and vigour.

2. Freedom from Discomfort

This freedom ensure that animals are provided with an appropriate environment,which will include shelter and a comfortable resting area.

3. Freedom from Pain, Injury or Disease

This freedom ensures prevention of pain, injury or disease through rapiddiagnosis and treatment.

4. Freedom to Express Normal Behaviours

This freedom ensures sufficient space is given, proper facilities and companyof the animals own kind (where appropriate).

5. Freedom from Fear and Distress

This freedom ensures appropriate conditions and treatment are given to avoidmental suffering.

More recently, animal welfare concepts have moved beyond the concept of simplymeeting the basic needs or minimum animal welfare standards, and are nowrecognising the emotional needs of the animals and promoting positiveexperiences.

Many document throughout the world reference the Five Freedoms withinlegislation and industry Codes of Practice, and the APCA supports the conceptof ensure those freedoms are met.

Provided by Australian Pet Care Association (APCA) – Become a member with usat https://www.australianpetcareassociation.com.au/membership/application/ orcontact us anytime by emailing [email protected]

Previous Final changes to the lists of approved countries to export livemarine and freshwater ornamental finfish to Australia

Next Do Dogs Have a Concept of Time?