The Australian Veterinary Association (AVA) would like to congratulate the sixveterinarians recognised in this year’s Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Dr Michael Banyard and Dr Ray Ferguson were awarded the Order of AustraliaMedal (OAM) for their contributions to veterinary science, while Dr MicheleCotton, Dr Denis Napthine, Dr David Shultz, and Professor Elizabeth Tudor allreceived honours for significant service within their particular veterinaryfields.

Dr Michael Banyard has made a lifelong contribution to the pursuit ofscientific knowledge in the veterinary field. His extensive work on infectiousdiseases resulted in Dr Banyard helping federal government in researching theeffect of endemic, or exotic diseases, in wildlife and feral animals. Herecently finished up an extended term as president of the AVA’s AustralianVeterinary Conservation Biology group, where he made significant contributionsto the understanding of our country’s natural ecosystems and the human impacton those systems. Dr Banyard served as President of the AVA from 1994 to 1995.

Dr Ray Ferguson helped establish the Australian Greyhound Veterinarians groupin 1986, seeing a need to expand the level of veterinary knowledge ofgreyhounds, while working with the racing industry to improve animal welfarestandards. Dr Ferguson played a hands-on role in the removal of the anabolicsteroids from the industry and is today seen as the pre-eminent expert on theracing greyhound in Australia. Dr Ferguson also lectures at the University ofMelbourne’s Veterinary School.

Dr Michele Cotton was posthumously awarded the Order of Australia Medal (AM)for significant service to veterinary science, education, and professionalorganisations. The achievements of Dr Cotton, who passed away in January ofthis year, can barely be summarised within a single press release. Her work inSydney, Seattle, Saudi Arabia, Jordan and Zimbabwe over 45 years left anindelible footprint on the international veterinary community. Dr Cotton co-founded Global Veterinary Solutions, an Australian consultancy that seeks topromote non-traditional veterinary roles and served as a board member of AVAand committee member for the Australian Veterinary Conservation Biology group.

Dr David Schultz was awarded the Order of Australia Medal (AM) for hissignificant service to veterinary medicine, zoological societies andphilanthropy, while Professor Elizabeth Tudor recognised for her significantservice to veterinary science, tertiary education, and animal welfare. TheHonourable Dr Denis Napthine was recognised for his distinguished service tothe people and Parliament of Victoria, veterinary science, and the community.

Australian Veterinary Conservation Biology and Australian GreyhoundVeterinarians are special interest groups (SIG) of the Australian VeterinaryAssociation.

Congratulations to all those who received awards in recognition of theirservice to veterinary science and animal health.

Previous Boost resilience and optimism in your business, presented by SaheraSumar

Next 2020 has been difficult but your tax return doesn’t need to be

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *